Discovering the Great Unknown…

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrowmindedness.” – Mark Twain

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only a page.” – St. Augustine

Traveling: a passion embedded deep in my heart  and soul to experience and better understand this world with all its different people, cultures, languages, beauty, and of course, FOOD! Whenever I begin to think about discovering a new place something stirs deep inside of me that I cannot quite explain. Excitement consumes my whole being and I revert to my memories of being a small child on Christmas morning waiting not so patiently to rip open my presents and see what’s inside. Pure child-like joy, something that I seem to rarely come across as an adult. 

Eleven years ago my life changed and I have never been the same since. For the first time I left my home country  of the good ol’ US of A and ventured out into a world unbeknownst to me that existed only in history books and dreams. Stepping down in Italy I found a love that I never even knew existed. I was fascinated with this experience of a way of life so different than mine, by the grandeur of the Duomo in Florence and St. Peter’s Basilica, and people speaking in tongues I couldn’t understand. Needless to say I was hooked, and this was only the beginning of what has become one of the driving forces in my life. To be continued…

Duomo, The Basilica Santa Maria di Fiore, Florence, Italy

St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican City

UNTIL NEXT TIME…

Pat

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment