A Simple Man

One morning last week I woke up and thought, why don’t I start a blog? The thought had never really crossed my mind before, and I’m not sure why it popped in there now, but here we are with the birth of simple man ruminations. This is my attempt to humor those who care with my random and crazy thoughts about anything and everything. Who knows, maybe I’ll just be reading my own thoughts?

Well I thought I’d start out by introducing myself a bit. I’m a 27-year-old single guy who has lived everywhere from Kansas to West Virginia, Oklahoma to Washington, California to Colorado, and Italy to Nicaragua. This past year I returned to Denver to be closer to family and start my own group travel business. I must say after living in the more tropical climates of Nicaragua and San Diego the previous 4 years my body didn’t like the Colorado winter very much.

I am bilingual – y me siento que soy medio Nicaraguense! I’ve traveled to 24 different countries. I’ve trekked to the top of the tallest free-standing mountain in the world. I was present in St. Peter’s Square in Rome for the Beatification of Mother Teresa. I’ve witnessed first-hand the concentration camps at Dachau and Auschwitz where horrible atrocities took place during the Holocaust. My eyes have seen one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world on the island of Santorini. I’ve enjoyed beers with locals at Oktoberfest in Germany and on St. Patrick’s Day in Ireland.

I’ve lived in the Nicaraguan campo where roads are unpaved, running water is scarce, electricity comes and goes, and the food of choice (or necessity) is gallo pinto, yet despite their poverty the people are some of the most beautiful, loving, caring, generous, and joyful I have ever met.

I’ve seen and experienced things most people never have the opportunity to do in a lifetime, and my journey has just begun.

I am blessed. I am Catholic. I love to sing, rap, and beatbox. I love Gonzaga basketball, Chipotle burritos, and playing soccer, basketball, volleyball, and golf. I have loved and been loved.

UNTIL NEXT TIME…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment